NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, Texas (May 6)- It took eleven long years, but the Texas Brahmas of the Central Hockey League earned their first Ray Miron President’s Cup Wednesday night at the NYTEX Sports Centre over the Colorado Eagles in a 6-2 win.  Forward Jason Deitsch, with three goals in the game, took home the MVP award.

It was obvious Texas would have a battle on their hands Brahmas All-Star defenseman Justin Kinnunen was sent to the box on a tripping call, handing the top ranked powerplay unit in the postseason the man advantage. Ed McGrane was able to beat Brahmas goaltender Brett Jaeger for an Eagles 1-0 lead. The Brahmas returned the favor seven minutes later when Jason Deitsch added to his league leading 22 points with his ninth goal in the playoffs with :10 seconds remaining with the man advantage. Jordan Cameron and Tyler Skworchinski assisted on the goal. 

The Brahmas came out of the first intermission and wasted no time to get their offense going when Brandon Benedict whipped a goal past Andrew Penner for a Texas 2-1 lead. Seconds later the Eagles were called on a hooking penalty and the Brahmas knew how to get the sold-out crowd at the NYTEX Sports Centre on their feet when Jason Deitsch planted his second goal of the night. The Southern Conference champions were not ready to sit back with a 3-1 lead when Jordan Cameron pulled a little razzle dazzle on the Colorado defense and scored his fourth goal of the postseason. 

It was Eagles defenseman Aaron Schneekloth who put a damper on the third when he beat Jaeger for an even strength goal. Yet, the night was all about the Texas Brahmas and Grant Jacobsen was sure to plant that memory for Colorado when he rifled a shot past Penner for a 5-2 Texas lead. The goal sequenced a goaltender change, the third in as many games, for Colorado with Morgan Cey between the pipes for the remainder of the evening. It was Deitsch who capped the night with a hat trick, scoring an empty net goal at the 2:30 mark in the final period.   

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


2012 Buy Tickets
Game Center
2012 Facebook
2012 Twitter
2012 You Tube
Fan Poll
Poll unavailable.